Fraser Prize

In 2017, the Department of Microbiology established the "Fraser Prize in Microbiology" to honor our friend and colleague Dr. Nigel Fraser. Dr. Fraser was a member of the Microbiology department from 1982 until his retirement in 2015, and he ran our Virology course for many years. He is not only an excellent scientist, but also a dedicated mentor, teacher and University citizen. Dr. Fraser has sponsored an annual award available to honor a graduate student demonstrating excellence in research achievement and citizenship.

The department awards the Eighth Annual Fraser Prize to Daniel Morreale, PhD, May 30, 2024.


The department awards the Seventh Annual Fraser Prize to Vincent Wu, PhD, May 31, 2023.

From left to right: Nigel Fraser, Vincent Wu, Michael Betts.

The department awards the Sixth Annual Fraser Prize to Nawar Naseer, PhD, May 24, 2022.
N Fraser awarding prize to Dr Naseer
From left to right: Nigel Fraser, Nawar Naseer.


The department awards the Fifth Annual Fraser Prize to Louis Taylor, PhD, July 13th, 2021.

The department awards the Fourth Annual Fraser Prize to Son Nguyen, PhD, June 12th, 2020.
Dr Fraser awards prize to Son Nguyen
Top: Son Nguyen.
Left to right: Rick Bushman, Mike Betts, Nigel Fraser, Jim Hoxie.


The department awards the Third Annual Fraser Prize to Arwa Abbas, PhD, May 15, 2019.
Drs. Collman, Abbas, Fraser and Bushman
From left to right: Ron Collman, Arwa Abbas, Nigel Fraser, Rick Bushman.

The department awards the Second Annual Fraser Prize to Jeffrey Carey, PhD, May 17, 2018.
Drs Bushman, Goulian, Fraser and Carey
From left to right: Rick Bushman, Mark Goulian, Nigel Fraser, Jeffrey Carey.

The department awards the First Annual Fraser Prize to MJ Drake, PhD, May 15, 2017.

From left to right: Nigel Fraser, MJ Drake,
Frederic Bushman, Paul Bates