Virology Research

Many laboratories at Penn study virology, focusing on viral replication, the host response, and viral countermeasures. For example APOBEC3G, the host-encoded restriction factor targeted by HIV Vif, was discovered in the Microbiology Department at the University of Pennsylvania. Today many pathogenic viruses of humans are under study, including filoviruses, HIV, MMTV, Coronaviruses including SARS, SV40, Merkel Cell Carcinoma virus, Herpes virus, bunyaviruses including Crimean Congo Hemorrhagic Fever and Rift Valley fever, and influenza viruses. HIV researchers in the program work closely with the Penn Center for AIDS Research; researchers focusing on tumor viruses work closely with the Tumor Virology Program; researchers working on bacterial viruses work closely with the PennCHOP Microbiome Program.


Virology Researchers include:


Jorge Alverez, PhD
Assistant Professor of Pathobiology, School of Veterinary Medicine
alvaj@vet.upenn.edu

James Alwine, PhD
Professor of Cancer Biology
alwine@pennmedicine.upenn.edu

Stewart Anderson, MD
Professor of Psychiatry
sande@pennmedicine.upenn.edu

Paul Bates, PhD
Professor of Microbiology
pbates@pennmedicine.upenn.edu

Jeffrey Bergelson, MD
Professor of Pediatrics
bergelson@email.chop.edu

Michael Betts, PhD
Associate Professor of Microbiology
betts@pennmedicine.upenn.edu

Frederic Bushman, PhD
Professor of Microbiology
bushman@pennmedicine.upenn.edu

Kyong-Mi Chang, MD
Associate Professor of Medicine
kmchang@pennmedicine.upenn.edu

Sara Cherry, PhD
Professor of Microbiology
cherrys@pennmedicine.upenn.edu

Gary Cohen, PhD
Professor of Microbiology
ghc@dental.upenn.edu

Ronald Collman, MD
Professor of Medicine
collmanr@pennmedicine.upenn.edu

Harvey Friedman, MD
Professor of Medicine
hfriedma@pennmedicine.upenn.edu

Beatrice Hahn, MD
Professor of Medicine
bhahn@pennmedicine.upenn.edu

Ronald Harty, PhD
Associate Professor of Microbiology
rharty@vet.upenn.edu

Scott Hensley, PhD
Associate Professor of Microbiology
hensley@pennmedicine.upenn.edu

James Hoxie, MD
Professor of Medicine
hoxie@pennmedicine.upenn.edu

Stuart Isaacs, MD
Associate Professor of Medicine
isaacs@pennmedicine.upenn.edu

Kelly Jordan-Sciutto, PhD
Chair, Department of Pathology
jordank@upenn.edu

Dennis Kolson, MD, PhD
Professor of Neurology
kolsond@pennmedicine.upenn.edu

Paul Lieberman, PhD
Wistar Institute Professor of Microbiology
lieberman@wistar.org

Carolina Lopez, PhD
Assistant Professor of Pathobiology
lopezca@vet.upenn.edu

Luis Montaner, DVM, DPhil
Wistar Institute Professor of Medicine
montaner@wistar.org

Una O'Doherty, MD, PhD
Associate Professor of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine at the Hospital of the University of Pennsylvania
unao@pennmedicine.upenn.edu

Yvonne Paterson, PhD
Professor of Microbiology
yvonne@pennmedicine.upenn.edu

Glenn Rall, PhD
Adjunct Professor of Microbiology
glenn.rall@fccc.edu

Holly Ramage, PhD
Research Assistant Professor of Microbiology
hramage@pennmedicine.upenn.edu

Robert Ricciardi, PhD
Professor of Microbiology
ricciardi@biochem.dental.upenn.edu

James Riley, PhD
Associate Professor of Microbiology
rileyj@exchange.upenn.edu

Erle Robertson, PhD
Professor of Otorhinolaryngology
erle@pennmedicine.upenn.edu

Matthias Schnell, PhD
Adjunct Professor of Microbiology
Matthias.Schnell@jefferson.edu

George Shaw, MD, PhD
Professor of Medicine
shawg@pennmedicine.upenn.edu

David Weiner, PhD
Wistar Institute
jhubert@wistar.org

Susan Weiss, PhD
Professor of Microbiology
weisssr@pennmedicine.upenn.edu

Drew Weissman, MD, PhD
Professor of Medicine
dreww@pennmedicine.upenn.edu

Matthew Weitzman, PhD
Associate Professor of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine
weitzmanm@email.chop.edu

E. John Wherry, PhD
Professor of SPATT
wherry@pennmedicine.upenn.edu

James Wilson, MD, PhD
Professor of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine
wilsonjm@pennmedicine.upenn.edu

John Wolfe, VMD, PhD
Professor of Pathobiology in Pediatrics

Jianxin You, PhD
Associate Professor of Microbiology
jianyou@pennmedicine.upenn.edu

Yan Yuan, PhD
Professor of Microbiology
yuan2@pobox.upenn.edu