Parasitology Research

The Parasitology program involves faculty members from the Schools of Medicine, Veterinary Medicine, and Arts and Sciences.  Research topics range from the genetic basis of drug resistance in protozoan parasites to the mathematical modeling of helminth transmission within host populations. Areas of emphasis include 1) immunoparasitology, in which a large group of faculty focus on understanding immune regulation in hosts infected with Leishmania, Toxoplasma, and Schistosoma, 2) cell and molecular parasitology, in which investigators study topics including drug resistance in toxoplasmosis, gene regulation in malaria, and the molecular biology and neurobiology of infective nematode larvae, and 3) population/evolutionary biology, in which investigators focus on the interaction of trematodes with their snail hosts and the population dynamics of parasites of farmed animals.


Parasitology Researchers include:

Dustin Brisson, PhD
Assistant Professor of Biology
dbrisson@sas.upenn.edu

Jay Farrell, PhD
Professor of Pathobiology
farrellj@vet.upenn.edu

Robert Greenberg, PhD
Research Associate Professor
rgree@vet.upenn.edu

Beatrice Hahn, MD
Professor of Hematology/Oncology
bhahn@pennmedicine.upenn.edu

Christopher Hunter, PhD
Chairman & Professor, Department of Pathobiology
chunter@vet.upenn.edu

Michael Levy, PhD
Assistant Professor of Epidemiology in Biostatistics and Epidemiology
mzlevy@pennmedicine.upenn.edu

James Lok, PhD
Professor of Parasitology
jlok@vet.upenn.edu

Thomas Nolan, PhD
Adjunct Professor of Parasitology
parasit@vet.upenn.edu

David Roos, PhD
E. Otis Kendall Professor of Biology
droos@sas.upenn.edu

Phillip Scott, PhD
Professor of Microbiology & Immunology
pscott@vet.upenn.edu

Hao Shen, PhD
Associate Professor of Microbiology
hshen@pennmedicine.upenn.edu