Microbiome Research

Researchers in the Microbiology Department helped develop methods that launched the contemporary microbiome field. Penn researchers have been part of the Human Microbiome Project, the largest project in the history of microbiology.  Research on the human microbiome today has the goal of manipulating human-associated microbial communities to improving the health of patients.  Researchers in the Microbiology Department work closely with the PennCHOP Microbiome Program, which is separately funded and provides multiple core resources for Microbiome research.  A core facility for generating and studying gnotobiotic mice is run out of the Microbiology Department to support Microbiome research. The School of Veterinary Medicine also hosts the Center for Host-Microbial Interactions.


Microbiome Researchers include:


Daniel Beiting, PhD
Res. Assist. Professor, Pathobiology, School of Veterinary Medicine
beiting@vet.upenn.edu

Frederic Bushman, PhD
Chair and Professor of Microbiology, Perelman School of Medicine
bushman@pennmedicine.upenn.edu

Sara Cherry, PhD
Professor of Path and Lab Medicine, Perelman School of Medicine
cherrys@pennmedicine.upenn.edu

Yongwon Choi, PhD
Leonard Jarett Professor of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine, Perelman School of Medicine
ychoi3@pennmedicine.upenn.edu

Ronald Collman, MD
Professor of Medicine, Perelman School of Medicine
collmanr@pennmedicine.upenn.edu

Elizabeth Grice, PhD
Assistant Professor of Dermatology, Perelman School of Medicine
egrice@pennmedicine.upenn.edu

Scott Hensley, PhD
Associate Professor of Microbiology, Perelman School of Medicine
hensley@pennmedicine.upenn.edu

Christopher Hunter, PhD
Chair and Professor, Department of Pathobiology, School of Veterinary Medicine
chunter@vet.upenn.edu

Ebbing Lautenbach, MD, MPH, MSCE
Chief, Division of Infectious Diseases; Robert Austrian Professor, Perelman School of Medicine
ebbing@pennmedicine.upenn.edu

James Lewis, MD, MSCE
Professor of Medicine, Perelman School of Medicine
lewisjd@pennmedicine.upenn.edu

Joseph W St. Geme, MD
Chair and Physician-in-Chief of Pediatrics, Children's Hospital of Philadelphia
stgemeiiij@email.chop.edu

Sarah Tishkoff, PhD
Silfen University Professor in Genetics and Biology, Perelman School of Medicine
tishkoff@pennmedicine.upenn.edu

Gary Wu, MD
Weisbrod Professor of Gastroenterology, Perelman School of Medicine
gdwu@pennmedicine.upenn.edu