Infectious Disease Research

Zoonotic transmission of infectious agents is a major cause of human morbidity and mortality. With increased human population size, environmental destruction, ease of international travel, and break downs in the public health system, emerging infectious diseases are increasingly important.  A large number of Penn investigators study viral, parasitic, and bacterial pathogens that are classified as emerging infectious diseases or are possible bioterrorism weapons. Agents studied by Penn investigators include smallpox, Ebola, Dengue, West Nile virus, Yellow fever virus, anthrax, toxoplasma gondii, and schsitosomiasis.


Emerging Infectious Diseases Researchers include:

Scott Hensley, PhD
Associate Professor of Microbiology
hensley@pennmedicine.upenn.edu

Stuart Isaacs, MD
Associate Professor of Medicine
isaacs@pennmedicine.upenn.edu

Ebbing Lautenbach, MD, MPH, MSCE
Robert Austrian Professor
ebbing@pennmedicine.upenn.edu

Holly Ramage, PhD
Research Assistant Professor of Microbiology
hramage@pennmedicine.upenn.edu

Erle Robertson, PhD
Professor of Otorhinolaryngology
erle@pennmedicine.upenn.edu

Hao Shen, PhD
Professor of Microbiology
hshen@pennmedicine.upenn.edu

Susan Weiss, PhD
Professor of Microbiology
weisssr@pennmedicine.upenn.edu

Jun (Jay) Zhu, PhD
Associate Professor of Microbiology
junzhu@pennmedicine.upenn.edu