Immune Response Research

Immunology research in the Microbiology Department takes place in close association with the Institute for Immunology. Penn investigators study numerous topics at the host-pathogen interface.  Penn investigators work on vaccine development for infectious agents such as HIV, smallpox, herpes simplex, and Ebola. In addition, infectious agents such as listeria monocytogenes are used to study basic immunology, such as the induction of immunologic memory.


Immune Response Researchers include:

Michael Betts, PhD
Associate Professor of Microbiology
betts@pennmedicine.upenn.edu

Dustin Brisson, PhD
Associate Professor of Biology
dbrisson@sas.upenn.edu

Igor Brodsky, PhD
Associate Professor of Microbiology
ibrodsky@vet.upenn.edu

Frederic Bushman, PhD
Professor of Microbiology
bushman@pennmedicine.upenn.edu

Kyong-Mi Chang, MD
Associate Professor of Medicine
kmchang@pennmedicine.upenn.edu

Sara Cherry, PhD
Professor of Microbiology
cherrys@pennmedicine.upenn.edu

Hildegund Ertl, MD
Wistar Institute Professor of Pediatrics
ertl@wistar.org

Jay Farrell, PhD
Professor of Pathobiology
farrellj@vet.upenn.edu

Harvey Friedman, MD
Professor of Medicine
hfriedma@pennmedicine.upenn.edu

Scott Hensley, PhD
Associate Professor of Microbiology
hensley@pennmedicine.upenn.edu

James Hoxie, MD
Professor of Medicine
hoxie@pennmedicine.upenn.edu

Christopher Hunter, PhD
Professor, Pathobiology
chunter@vet.upenn.edu

Stuart Isaacs, MD
Associate Professor of Medicine
isaacs@pennmedicine.upenn.edu

Kelly Jordan-Sciutto, PhD
Chair and Professor of Pathology
jordank@upenn.edu

Carl June, MD
Richard W. Vague Professor in Immunotherapy
cjune@exchange.upenn.edu

Junhyong Kim, PhD
Kahn Term Endowed Professor of Biology
junhyong@sas.upenn.edu

Rahul Kohli, MD, PhD
Assistant Professor of Medicine
rkohli@upenn.edu

Carolina Lopez, PhD
Assistant Professor, Pathobiology
lopezca@vet.upenn.edu

Luis Montaner, DVM, DPhil
Wistar Institute Professor of Medicine
montaner@wistar.org

Paula Oliver, PhD
Associate Professor of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine
paulao@pennmedicine.upenn.edu

Yvonne Paterson, PhD
Professor of Microbiology
yvonne@pennmedicine.upenn.edu

Joshua Plotkin, PhD
Associate Professor of Biology
jplotkin [at] sas.upenn.edu

Mechthild Pohlschroder, PhD
Professor of Biology
pohlschr@sas.upenn.edu

Holly Ramage, PhD
Research Assistant Professor of Microbiology

Robert Ricciardi, PhD
Professor of Microbiology
ricciardi@biochem.dental.upenn.edu

James Riley, PhD
Associate Professor of Microbiology
rileyj@exchange.upenn.edu

David Roos, PhD
E. Otis Kendall Professor of Biology
droos@sas.upenn.edu

Dieter Schifferli, DMV, PhD
Associate Professor of Microbiology
dmschiff@vet.upenn.edu

Matthias Johannes Schnell, PhD
Adjunct Professor of Microbiology

Phillip Scott, PhD
Professor, Microbiology & Immunology
pscott@vet.upenn.edu

George Shaw, MD, PhD
Professor of Medicine
shawg@pennmedicine.upenn.edu

Hao Shen, PhD
Professor of Microbiology
hshen@pennmedicine.upenn.edu

Sunny Shin, PhD
Associate Professor of Microbiology
sunshin@pennmedicine.upenn.edu

Paul Sniegowski, PhD
Professor of Biology
paulsnie@sas.upenn.edu

David Weiner, PhD
Wistar institute Professor
dweiner@wistar.org

Susan Weiss, PhD
Professor of Microbiology
weisssr@pennmedicine.upenn.edu

Drew Weissman, MD, PhD
Professor of Medicine
dreww@pennmedicine.upenn.edu

E. John Wherry, PhD
Professor of Systems Pharmacology and Translational Therapeutics
wherry@pennmedicine.upenn.edu

James Wilson, MD, PhD
Professor of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine
wilsonjm@pennmedicine.upenn.edu

Yan Yuan, PhD
Professor of Microbiology
yuan2@pobox.upenn.edu