Bacteriology Research

The bacteriology program at Penn focuses on molecular mechanisms of replication, molecular pathogenesis, host responses, and the vertebrate microbiome. 

Bacteriology Researchers include:

Frederic Bushman, PhD
Professor of Microbiology
bushman@pennmedicine.upenn.edu

Ronald Collman, MD
Professor of Medicine
collmanr@pennmedicine.upenn.edu

Mark Goulian, PhD
Edward and Louise W. Kahn Term Professor of Biology and Physics
goulian@sas.upenn.edu

Elizabeth Grice, PhD
Associate Professor of Dermatology
egrice@pennmedicine.upenn.edu

Rahul Kohli, MD, PhD
Assistant Professor of Medicine
rkohli@upenn.edu

James Lewis, MD, MSCE
Professor of Medicine
lewisjd@pennmedicine.upenn.edu

Dieter Schifferli, DMV, PhD
Associate Professor of Microbiology
dmschiff@vet.upenn.edu

Hao Shen, PhD
Professor of Microbiology
hshen@pennmedicine.upenn.edu

Sunny Shin, PhD
Associate Professor of Microbiology
sunshin@pennmedicine.upenn.edu

Gary Wu, MD
Ferdinand G. Weisbrod Professor in Gastroenterology
gdwu@pennmedicine.upenn.edu

Jun (Jay) Zhu, PhD
Associate Professor of Microbiology
junzhu@pennmedicine.upenn.edu